Skip to content

Mustard Chicken

July 4, 2011

When I was told that I couldn’t have sugar anymore, I thought I would miss chocolate most of all. Then I found the sugar-free chocolate. It’s not the same, but it’s definitely in the ballpark. So as time has passed, what I’ve found that what I really miss is barbecue. I found a barbecue sauce that doesn’t have any sugar or molasses in it (Tony Roma’s Original Flavor), and that’s when I realized that what I’m missing is that dark molasses taste. I haven’t figured out how to substitute for that, so I’ve pretty much given up on barbecue.

But it’s the 4th of July, and what is the 4th without throwing something on the grill. So, I have adapted this from a recipe I saw in a Good Housekeeping while having a pedicure. My toes are pretty and I have a new recipe for yummy food. Perfect!

Mustard Chicken

1/2 c. whole grain mustard

1/2 c. dijon mustard

1/2 c. apple juice

1/4 c. white vinegar

2 T. olive oil

10 pounds bone in chicken (I used thighs)

2 med yellow onions cut in 1/2″ wedges

2 med red onions cut in 1/2″ wedges

Directions

Mix the mustard and liquid ingredients in a plastic bowl.

Put your chicken and onion wedges in two large ziplock bags. Pour the marinade over them and close the bags. Make sure the marinade covers the chicken thoroughly. Place in refrigerator and marinate for 3 to 8 hours.

Grill chicken pieces, turning regularly for 30 to 40 minutes until the juices run clear. Add the onions to the grill for the last 15 minutes of grilling.

I also did some in the oven. 50 minutes at 350 degrees followed by 5-10 minutes on broil to crisp the skin.

Makes enough to feed 12 people. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

