Skip to content

Artichoke Heart Soup

August 15, 2009

This was inspired by a recipe in The Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special Cookbook. This is delicious, fast, and nutritious.

Artichoke Heart Soup

2 TBSP olive oil
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
4-5 tsp minced garlic
3 celery stalks, thinly sliced
14 oz. can artichoke hearts, drained and quartered
14 oz can diced tomatoes (I used some that already were flavored with garlic and basil)
2 c. frozen peas
6 c. vegetable or chicken stock
2 TBSP lemon juice
2 TBSP fresh basil, chopped
Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper seasoning to taste (all other lemon pepper blends contain sugar!)

In a large soup pot, saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil until they are turning golden brown.

Add artichoke hearts and celery and cook another 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

Stir in tomatoes and cook another 3 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients and cook for about 10 minutes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. delightsgal permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:09 pm

    Hi my non-sugar friend!
    This looks wonderful…I’m soo on a soup kick lately. 🙂
    I’ve been thinking about you as I’ve been doing my allergy treatments with NAET. So far I’m back on all grains except wheat, haven’t had a reaction to eggs since, and can eat sugar again (though I prefer raw and honey).

    For some reason I feel like I read that you are in Vegas…but maybe I’ve a short in my brain. Either way, if you google NAET you’ll find practitioners all over the country as well as all over the world. There are a few in Vegas (if thats really where you are) 🙂

    It’s made such a difference in my life (as well as my kiddos and my husband just started a couple weeks ago) for all of my food allergies. Going to recent parties have been so much more comfortable. I still choose not to eat a lot of it, but I know I won’t be sick afterwards!

    hugs,
    trina

Leave a Reply

