Skip to content

More on Barliv

March 18, 2009

This is from the FDA – entire document can be found here.

Celiac disease is an autoimrmune disease triggered in genetically predisposed individuals by gluten ingestion . Gluten is a ubiquitous component of cereals and as such is broadly found in many foods . ‘In genetically susceptible individuals, gluten ingestion results in intestinal mucosa damage and malabsorption of essential nutrients . Currently, a life-long gluten-free diet is the only therapy available.

In order to ensure that people with celiac disease can recognize barley beta-glucan as a food component which may contain gluten, the name of the product under which it will appear in food ingredient lists, should always refer to its barley origin (i.e., “barley (3-glucan” or “barley betafiber” and not just “R-glucan” or “betafiber”) .

This labeling will also be relevant for those few people who suffer from a barley allergy (Bonadonna et al ., 1999; Vidal & Gonzalez-Quintela, 1995; Armentia et al ., 1993).

So…. this additive is not gluten free and, because of the close relationship between wheat and barley, it should also be avoided by people with allergies to those grains. You can bet that Cargill will be wanting to add it to everything, even things that would be otherwise wheat and gluten free.

Advertisements
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 7:10 pm

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: