Skip to content

New find! Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage

February 26, 2009

When I was first diagnosed with allergies to wheat, whey, sugar, and eggs, I thought that I would still be able to eat things like lunch meat. I was shocked to find that nearly every brand of lunch meat has whey and sugar added. Some brands have wheat added. I made the assumption that sausages would be the same, especially anything labelled “sweet.” I have been walking past my beloved Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausages for several months now, not even looking at the label.

For some reason, last weekend I decided to torture myself by picking up a package and reading the ingredients. (I do this sometimes, and have learned all sorts of fun things, such as that Twizzlers are made with wheat flour. Who knew?) Well! I was shocked to find that I have been denying myself for no good reason. Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausages are dairy and wheat free. Better yet (for me anyway), they are sweetened with corn. 

Now, if you are a careful label reader, you will see that there is “dextrose” listed as an ingredient. Some people who have a cane sugar allergy have been told to avoid any type of sugar that is not labelled as to source. My naturopath, however, said that any simple sugar (dextrose, glucose, etc) are safe. In order for that ingredient to appear on the label as “dextrose” instead of “sugar” the government requires that it has been purified so that all traces of cane have been removed. She said that assuming that the company is being honest in labelling, dextrose would be safe for me to eat.  She suggested that I monitor my response to the food carefully and, if I have any concerns, to avoid foods from that company in the future.

I am happy to report that I had no bad reaction to the Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage. I am, once again, a grateful fan.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lupiloops permalink
    March 30, 2009 10:48 am

    Really?! Rad! I’ve been having the hardest time finding sausages and bacon cured without sugar.

  2. Doug permalink
    March 13, 2010 9:19 pm

    Dextrose, schmextrose, good sweet italian sausage is hard to find, and these are some of the tastiest I’ve ever tried.
    Flavor is too subtle for ingredients in pizza or most other dishes (might be good with basil pesto), but cook ’em and slice ’em up and serve with a trace of unsalted butter…
    …Yum!

Leave a Reply

