Skip to content

The Culinary Institute of America offers a free online training module for chefs

January 16, 2009

Here’s a quote from the free online training manual offered by the CIA: “…restaurant operators cant and shouldn’t try to distinguish between food allergies and food intolerance. What matters is that some guests can’t or don’t want to eat certain foods. All such requests should be taken seriously by everyone on staff, from the front of the house to the kitchen.”¬† They even include some great recipes!

I’m going to print this out and take it to my local IHOP. The server there swore to me that their steamed vegetables aren’t buttered, but when they came to my table, I could tell with one bite that they were. IHOP will not get any of my business. I sent them an email over a month ago about the ingredients in one of their very plain chicken dishes. I’ve heard nothing back from them.

On the other hand, Panda Express lists the ingredients for all their dishes on their website, plus their customer service people responded to my email in under an hour. Sadly, I can’t eat there. Every dish except the steamed rice and steamed veggies have eggs in them. The steamed veggies have sugar. But that’s a company that cares about providing service to their customers/potential customers. Good for them!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

