Skip to content

Is Splenda Safe-Recent Studies About Splenda By Duke University | Baby Boomer Advisor Club

January 14, 2009

In September of 2008, Duke released their new findings about Splenda. Here are their findings:

Duke Splenda Report

* Splenda-Reduces the amount of good bacteria in the intestines by 50%.

* Splenda-Increases the pH level in the intestines.

* Splenda-Contributes to increases in body weight.

* Splenda-Affects the P-glycoprotein (P-gp) in the body in such a way that crucial health related drugs could be rejected.

via Is Splenda Safe-Recent Studies About Splenda By Duke University | Baby Boomer Advisor Club.

I’ve never been able to tolerate NutraSweet (aspartame), so I’ve stayed away from Splenda (sucralose) as much as possible. Whenever I’ve had it, it’s caused me a great deal of intestinal distress. Looks like a good decision.

One Comment leave one →
  1. delightsgal permalink
    January 14, 2009 9:53 pm

    Thanks for posting my eczema article. 🙂

    About Splenda…I soo agree with your warning. Like you, after using it for a short while and not feeling great about it, I decided that natural must be better. I struggled with sweet of all kinds for a long time and decided that raw sugar is the way to go. A list of my favorite natural sweetners:

    Sucanat (sugar cane natural)
    turbinado (raw sugar)
    agave nectar
    raw honey
    fresh fruit (made into sauces)

    my fam and i are soo much happier with these choices!

    happy sweetening,
    delightsgal

Leave a Reply

