Skip to content

Recipe Review: Mark’s pancake recipe

January 10, 2009

Weird and Surprisingly Good: Mark’s pancake recipe

This is my first try cooking anything with rice flour. The texture is not exactly the same as pancakes made with wheat flour, but it’s not bad.

Applesauce is substituted for eggs, and that works well. I might add a touch of honey next time to boost the flavor. The taste of these pancakes is fairly bland, so I needed a lot of toppings to make this taste like a yummy treat to me. With those toppings, however, these are quite delicious.

This isn’t a recipe I’ll make often, but it’s nice to have this recipe for when my sweet tooth is demanding pancakes. It’s also nice that it’s an easy and fast recipe.

When I make these again, I’m going to use dried apricots instead of dates and almonds instead of walnust because I enjoy their tastes more. And I think I might try sprinkling them on top of the finished pancakes instead of cooking them in the batter.

One Comment leave one →
  1. delightsgal permalink
    February 6, 2009 3:10 pm

    Hi there 🙂 Just wanted to say hello and see how you and your sweet tooth are doing…

    Mark’s pancakes look wonderful. Especially adding the macadamia nut oil and applesauce. I’ve been meaning to post our oat pancake recipe. Thanks for reminding me.

    Have a great weekend,
    trina

Leave a Reply

