Skip to content

Truvia – is it sugar cane free?

January 1, 2009

There’s a  lot of buz about Truvia, a new Stevia-based sweetener. I went to the site to check it out. Imagine my surprise when I saw the list of ingredients, which is highly incomplete. Three ingredients, one of which is “natural flavors”, which is not further explained. I sent them this email on 12/31:

One of your ingredients is “natural flavors.” I have allergies, so I need to know something more specific than that. Is there a source for more complete information. I don’t want to know your formulation. I just need to know if your product is safe for me to eat.

Let’s see if they reply.

Update 1/5/09: Email from Truvia Customer Service

5 Comments leave one →
  1. KDL permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:37 am

    I find it interesting that they chose to tell you what “isn’t” in it rather than what is!!!

  2. Keri permalink
    March 24, 2009 3:08 pm

    I have a sugar cane allergy and use Truvia. I’ve had no problems at all with it. I probably use one-two packets per day in my green tea. When I have anything with evaporated cane juice I have almost an immediate response.

  3. toastmasterliz permalink*
    March 24, 2009 9:39 pm

    Keri, thanks for your response. If you read further in my blog, I never did get an answer. They told me my doctor would have to call Cargill and they would talk to her. Distressing that the consumer cannot get information on their own. Nevertheless, I appreciate you sharing your experience with the product. Maybe I’ll try it after all.

  4. Keri permalink
    March 25, 2009 8:46 am

    It is frustrating…..especially when you’re already frustrated with the allergy in the first place! I know I am. 🙂 Apparently you can bake with Truvia too, so I’m going to try that next. Of course, I have an egg allergy too, so I have to substitute for that as well.

  5. toastmasterliz permalink*
    March 25, 2009 9:04 pm

    Doesn’t it seem odd that suddenly cane sugar is in all the health food? It’s like sugar is suddenly healthy. I never noticed that before I was diagnosed. Let me know how your baking experience goes. I’m also allergic to eggs. It seems like in baking I have to substitute for everything!

Leave a Reply

