Skip to content

Living with a sugar cane allergy in a processed world

January 1, 2009

I was diagnosed with a sugar cane allergy in November 2008. It’s been frustrating to find information or sites that give information about this. So many things have sugars in them and the nutritional information doesn’t specify the source of the sugar. So this blog is about what I learn as I try to deal with this allergy.

I am also allergic to wheat (not the gluten, but wheat), whey protein (a dairy protein), and eggs (whites and yolks).

I had the testing done because I had such severe migraines. My “aura” was not flashing lights, but nausea and vomiting. This led my naturopath to believe that they were food related. I had already tried cutting out all the traditional stuff that is supposed to trigger migraines (wine, aged cheese, chocolate, etc) without any success.

It was November 2008 when I was diagnosed. I have lost 4 pounds since eliminating these foods from my diet, but have dropped an entire pant size. I never realized how bloated I was. In addition, no headaches since starting the diet with one exception. I ate about 1 tbsp of mayo by mistake. Immediately had the stomache ache and nausea. Headache followed. Two days later I had the flu shot. I wasn’t told it was egg-based. Big mistake. I wanted to cut my arm off! Any doubts I had vanished. These foods are poisons for me.

I have lymphedema fin one arm, my back, side, and breast from breast cancer surgery. One of things I do to keep the lymph moving freely is to eat a high protein diet. I don’t worry about vegan or vegetarian. I eat meat unabashedly. I eat the way I eat solely because of the food allergies.

I am not allergic to soy, but because I’ve had breast cancer I avoid soy.

If you also have a sugar cane allergy, let’s share resources.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2009 4:53 pm

    Hi,
    I haven’t been diagnosed with a sugar cane allergy but I know I am extremely sensitive to sugar so I must be allergic or at least sensitive. I also get headaches almost immediately and since having a young baby, I can get irrationally angry. I did some research on this and found that sugar can cause this kind of reaction. I feel like a crazy person if I accidentally eat something with sugar in it!

    Anyway, yes, I think when people actually make the connection between what they are eating and their symptoms, it is a lot easier to give the foods up.

    good luck!

  2. wiseandra permalink*
    January 1, 2009 5:03 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Sarah! I’m going to check out your link. It sounds interesting.

  3. Alex M. permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:43 pm

    My senior year in highschool, I found out that I was allergic to cane sugar. I had gone into the doctor’s with a different complaint, stomach issues actually. Well, they didn’t find anything wrong with me so I went to a naturapath. I swear by her now! She found out that I had a lack of acid in my stomach. So we cured that. And then my mom piped up with one of my complaints that I had had since the 6th grade: fatigue. Doctor’s have been trying to figure out the source of my fatigue for years, never once did they suggest it was allergies. They always tested me for anemia but I was never anemic. They just scratched their heads and moved on to the next patient. My naturapath decided to run complete allergy tests and check all my vitamin levels. Besides being extremely low in B12 (a big factor of my fatigue) I was also allergic to cane sugar. It wasn’t so much fun being a teenager and learning that I could no longer eat chocolate. But I cut it out of my diet, added B12 and POOF! I could actually wake up in the mornings and stay awake during class.

    My cane sugar allergy is to every type of cane sugar, whether or not it’s oraganic (as some people have claimed their allergy ascribes to). I can tell when I’ve accidently eaten cane sugar because I suddenly have troubles waking up in the mornings and staying awake in class or while I’m studying (not to mention I get cranky when I’m tired).

    So for three years I have been off the cane sugar. But I learned to live with it and get around it and am living much healthier now. The allergy had been stressing my body out way more than external stresses I had been dealing with which partly led to my stomach issues which led to my B12 issues. Needless to say, I am grateful to my doctor with finally figuring out what was wrong with me! My new diet isn’t so bad either. I was the only one of my friends in college that didn’t suffer from the freshman-15

  4. cathaloo permalink
    May 28, 2010 12:04 pm

    I recently learned that I’m allergic to sugar cane, so I’m delighted to find this blog. Avoiding cane sugar products is really a challenge, especially because I’m “addicted” to sugar, but after a dietary cleanse, I began to see how my brain fog is a direct reaction to consuming sugar.

Leave a Reply

